Monday, January 16, 2012

A.J. Green on All-Rookie Team

Bengals rookie receiver A.J. Green has been selected to the Pro Football Weekly/Professional Football Writers of America All-Rookie Team.

Green is the first rookie receiver in five seasons to go over 1,000 yards and the first in eight to be selected to the Pro Bowl. With 65 receptions for 1,057 yards and seven touchdowns, Green led rookies in receptions and yards and was second in touchdowns. The yardage is a new Bengals rookie record.

Andy Dalton was beat out at quarterback and Offensive Rookie of the Year honors by Carolina’s Cam Newton. Elder grad Kyle Rudlolph, who was selected by the Vikings in the second round, also made the team at tight end.

In other voting, no Bengals made the All-Pro team. Defensive tackle Geno Atkins had an outside shot but was beat out by San Francisco’s Justin Smith and Baltimore’s Haloti Ngata. Atkins, who was the first alternate for the Pro Bowl, looks like he will be in the game as either Ngata or New England’s Vince Wilfork won’t be able to participate in the game due to the Super Bowl. The All-Conference team will be released tomorrow.

If New England beats Baltimore in the AFC Championship Game on Sunday, Dalton will also move into the lineup since Tom Brady was elected.

Niners GM Trent Baalke was named the Executive of the Year. Earlier this month, Mike Brown was the choice of Pro Football Talk and Sports Illustrated’s Peter King.

2011 All-Rookie TeamQuarterback: Cam Newton / Panthers
Running backs: DeMarco Murray / Cowboys; Roy Helu / Redskins
Wide receivers: A.J. Green / Bengals; Julio Jones / Falcons
Tight end: Kyle Rudolph / Vikings
Center: Mike Pouncey / Dolphins
Offensive guards: Stefen Wisniewski / Raiders; Danny Watkins / Eagles
Offensive tackles: Tyron Smith / Cowboys; Nate Solder / Patriots
Defensive ends: J.J. Watt / Texans; Jabaal Sheard / Browns
Defensive tackles: Marcell Dareus / Bills; Phil Taylor / Browns
Linebackers: Aldon Smith / 49ers; Von Miller / Broncos; Ryan Kerrigan / Redskins
Cornerbacks: Patrick Peterson / Cardinals; Richard Sherman / Seahawks
Safeties: Chris Conte / Bears; Chris Harris / Broncos
Placekicker: Dan Bailey / Cowboys
Punter: Matt Bosher / Falcons
Punt returner: Patrick Peterson / Cardinals
Kickoff returner: Randall Cobb / Packers
Special-teamer: Akeem Dent / Falcons

From Cincinnati dot com


No comments:

Post a Comment